Mark Your Calendars – August 8 Webinar on Disability Emergency Preparedness, August 12 Webinar on Traumatic Brain InjuryImage Banner

Mark Your Calendars – August 8 Webinar on Disability Emergency Preparedness, August 12 Webinar on Traumatic Brain Injury

You are here

Mark Your Calendars – August 8 Webinar on Disability Emergency Preparedness, August 12 Webinar on Traumatic Brain Injury

Monday, August 5, 2019
Categories: 

ANCOR is sharing the two webinars below because of their relevance to the supports and services our members offer to people with disabilities.

August 8 webinar by the Pacific ADA Center:

Title: “FEMA's Office of Disability Integration & Coordination - Who We Are & How We Serve.”

Date / Time: August 8th, 2019. Webinars begin at 2.30pm EST/1.30pm CST/12.30pm MST/11.30am PST/8:30am Hawaii.

Registration: Free on-line at http://adapresentations.org/registrationEM.php Registration closes at midnight, August 7th, 2019.

Description: This session highlights an overview of the strategic vision of FEMA's Office of Disability Integration & Coordination (ODIC). In this session, members of ODIC will discuss the varying roles of ODIC in headquarters, the regions, and in the field. Presenters will provide updates on current policy and program initiatives aimed at improving access for persons with disabilities before, during and after disasters.

Learning objectives:

  • Understand FEMA's approach to enterprise level disability integration.
  • Learn program and policy initiatives.

Learn more.

August 12 webinar by the National Center on Advancing Person-Centeredness Practices and Systems (NCAPPS).

Title: Considering Brain Injury: Why Being Brain Injury Informed is a Critical Component of Person-Centered Thinking, Planning, and Practice 

Date / Time August 12th, 3:00 to 4:30 PM Eastern Time

Registration: https://zoom.us/webinar/register/WN_ypRX4ILbRSyLy2oCQV7m8A

Description: Traumatic brain injury is a leading cause of death and disability for all age groups in America. This often hidden disability is commonly found to be a co-occurring condition among individuals living with mental health challenges, substance use related disorders and other disabling conditions. As a result, individuals with brain injury are often served by programs primarily focused on intellectual and developmental disabilities, aging and other populations receiving long-term services and supports. Those engaging in person-centered thinking, planning, and practice in human service systems need to be equipped with tools to consistently and appropriately work with those who have a history of brain injury. This webinar features presenters from the National Association of State Head Injury Administrators (NASHIA) and two individuals with lived experience of brain injury. The webinar’s key points of focus will include how brain injury considerations and person-centered practices differ from plans supporting other disability populations; and accommodations and strategies for addressing brain injury-related cognitive, behavioral and social issues with regard to person-centered plan development.