Regional Stakeholder Meetings Scheduled on WIOA RegsImage Banner

Regional Stakeholder Meetings Scheduled on WIOA Regs

You are here

Regional Stakeholder Meetings Scheduled on WIOA Regs

Monday, June 13, 2016

The U.S. Departments of Education (ED) and Labor (DOL) will publish final regulations to implement changes made by the Workforce Innovation and Opportunity Act (WIOA). ED will publish two sets of final regulations implementing changes to programs authorized under the Rehabilitation Act of 1973 (Act), as amended by title IV of WIOA, as well as implementing new provisions added to the Act by WIOA.

The Departments have scheduled three regional meetings to provide technical assistance on the final regulations implementing program-specific changes made to the State Vocational Rehabilitation (VR) Services program and the State Supported Employment Services program, as well as those implementing Limitations on the Use of Subminimum Wage in new section 511 of the Act. In the regional meetings, RSA will provide technical assistance on the following areas: competitive integrated employment, employment outcome, and limitations on the use of subminimum wage (section 511); transition services, including pre-employment transition services; supported employment; and fiscal requirements.

State VR agencies; RSA-funded technical assistance centers; and stakeholders, including State Rehabilitation Councils, employers and business associations, service providers, advocacy organizations, and other organizations representing individuals with disabilities, are invited to attend these meetings. ANCOR recommends registering early. Registration slots will be reserved for state VR agencies and RSA-funded technical assistance centers, then all remaining registration slots for stakeholders will be on a first-come, first-served basis.

All regional meetings will begin at 9:00 AM and conclude at 4:00 PM (local time).

Meeting dates, exact locations and more information on registration is available here

Washington, DC: Tuesday, August 9, 2016

States to Attend: Alabama, Connecticut, Delaware, District of Columbia, Florida, Georgia, Kentucky, Maine, Maryland, Massachusetts, Mississippi, New Hampshire, New Jersey, New York, North Carolina, Pennsylvania, Puerto Rico, Rhode Island, South Carolina, Tennessee, Vermont, Virgin Islands, Virginia, West Virginia

Chicago, IL: Wednesday, September 7, 2016

States to Attend: Arkansas, Colorado, Illinois, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Louisiana, Michigan, Minnesota, Missouri, Montana, Nebraska, New Mexico, North Dakota, Ohio, Oklahoma, South Dakota, Texas, Wisconsin, Wyoming

Sacramento, CA: Tuesday, September 27, 2016

States to Attend: Alaska, American Samoa, Arizona, California, Commonwealth of Northern Marianas, Guam, Hawaii, Idaho, Nevada, Oregon, Utah, Washington