ANCOR Connect 2024: The Power of We

Register today to join our community of I/DD providers for three days in historic Santa Fe, New Mexico, April 8-10, 2024!
Register Now
Capitol Correspondence - 07.01.19

Apply Now: Openings for Advisory Committee to US Civil Rights Commission in 13 States

Share this page

ANCOR is sharing this announcement by the U.S. Commission on Civil Rights, which is seeking unpaid members for Advisory Committees in multiple states, in case any of our readers wish to apply.

As written by the Commission:

“The Commission has established an Advisory Committee in every state and the District of Columbia. These committees serve as the Commission’s eyes and ears and advise the Commission about civil rights matters in their states. Committee members are recruited from a broad cross-section of professional, educational, and political backgrounds. The Commission is especially interested in appointing individuals with diverse viewpoints who have a demonstrated interest in the various civil rights issues that fall within the Commission’s jurisdiction, as well as individuals who can approach these issues from diverse personal and professional experiences.

Committee members are appointed to four-year terms and are expected to make meaningful contributions to the Committee in its development of projects and creation of reports for the Commission. Committees meet on average every quarter, but Committees in the midst of a project may meet monthly. Members who miss two consecutive meetings may be subject to constructive resignation from the Committee.”

Apply here. Applications consist of a current resume and a 500-word statement. States accepting applications for 4-year terms with a deadline of July 19 are IL, MA, SD, WI. States accepting applications for 4-year terms with a deadline of August 17 are MD and West Virginia. States accepting applications for 4-year terms with a deadline of January 14, 2020 are Georgia and Maine. States accepting interim applications for calendar year 2019 are IA, ID, LA, WA and WY.