Capitol Correspondence - 09.16.19

Senate Passes Annual ANCOR-Led DSP Resolution During DSP Recognition Week

Share this page

Every year, in order to highlight the work done by Direct Support Professionals (DSPs) as they support individuals with disabilities in living full and independent lives, ANCOR advocates for the Senate to pass a resolution recognizing the DSP occupation. The Senate helped us wrap up our annual DSP Recognition Week (September 8-15 this year) by passing S. 312 on Thursday.

Perennial DSP champions, Senators Ben Cardin [D-MD] and Susan Collins [R-ME] led the resolution. Senator Cardin also submitted comments on the Senate floor specifically praising the DSP workforce. These comments are documented in the official Senate record.

Additional cosponsors include: Tammy Baldwin [D-WI], Richard Blumenthal [D-CT], Sherrod Brown [D-OH], Bob Casey [D-PA], Kamala Harris [D-CA], Maggie Hassan [D-NH], Doug Jones [D-AL], Tim Kaine [D-VA], Senators Angus King [I-ME], Amy Klobuchar [D-MN], Ed Markey [D-MA], Bob Menendez [D-NJ], Chris Murphy [D-CT], Patty Murray [D-WA], Jacky Rosen [D-NV], and Chris Van Hollen [D-MD].